Recalbox Forum

    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Recent
    • Tags
    • recalbox.com
    • Gitlab repository
    • Documentation
    • Discord

    [SOFT] dynquee: dynamic marquee for Recalbox

    Community projects
    [soft] dynquee dynamic marquee recalbox
    3
    15
    281
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • poppadum
      poppadum last edited by

      I'm building a bartop arcade machine based on Recalbox and I wanted to have a dynamic marquee which can change depending on which game system is selected and which game is being played.

      As my Pi4 has dual HDMI outputs I wanted to drive the marquee from the second HDMI output.

      dynquee (say "dinky") is the program I wrote to do that. It's a bit over-engineered for what it does, but it seems to be stable now so I've decided to release it in case others find it useful (it has been asked for a few times before; see e.g. 1 2 3 4).

      For more info see the project page on github.

      All comments / questions / criticism welcome.

      dynquee startup
      dynquee megadrive
      dynquee arcade
      dynquee ChaseHQ
      dynquee Spectrum
      dynquee SNES
      dynquee Commodore 64

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
      • toniosj
        toniosj Spanish moderator last edited by

        Amazing!! Thanks for your work!!

        Two questions:

        1. Where did you buy that LCD?

        2. Does it work on Recalbox PC?

        toniosj poppadum 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 1
        • toniosj
          toniosj Spanish moderator @toniosj last edited by

          @toniosj

          3rd question 😉

          Does it work in Pi4 if I am using RGBDUAL ?

          digitaLumberjack 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • digitaLumberjack
            digitaLumberjack Staff @toniosj last edited by digitaLumberjack

            @poppadum nice project ! Thanks for sharing 🙂

            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
            • poppadum
              poppadum @toniosj last edited by poppadum

              @toniosj said in [SOFT] dynquee: dynamic marquee for Recalbox:

              1. Where did you buy that LCD?

              I ordered it from Caison LCD in China - the model is DV190FBM; was not cheap though 😢

              If you can put up with a TN panel there are some less expensive options around e.g. here or here.

              1. Does it work on Recalbox PC?

              I've only tested it on Raspberry Pi so far, but I think it can be made to work. If you've already got Recalbox running on PC, I'd be interested in the output of the command ls -al /dev/fb*

              Does it work in Pi4 if I am using RGBDUAL ?

              Again, not tested but I don't see why not. Let's give it a try.

              toniosj 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
              • toniosj
                toniosj Spanish moderator @poppadum last edited by

                @poppadum

                ls -al /dev/fb*

                ls: /dev/fb*: No such file or directory

                poppadum 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • poppadum
                  poppadum @toniosj last edited by

                  @toniosj said:

                  ls -al /dev/fb*
                  ls: /dev/fb*: No such file or directory

                  Hmm, so no framebuffer device at all 😕

                  For testing I've installed Recalbox PC on an old Atom-based nettop. It has HDMI & VGA outputs and I connected 2x HD monitors. After Recalbox boots (I do get /dev/fb0) I ran xrandr:

                  Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
                  HDMI-1 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 16mm x 9mm
                     1920x1080i    60.00*+  50.00    59.94  
                  ...
                  VGA-1 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
                     1920x1080     60.00 +
                  ...
                  

                  OK, try placing the second monitor to the right of the primary:
                  xrandr --output VGA-1 --pos 1921x0
                  and run xrandr again:

                  Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3841 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
                  HDMI-1 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 16mm x 9mm
                     1920x1080i    60.00*+  50.00    59.94  
                  ...
                  VGA-1 connected 1920x1080+1921+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 477mm x 268mm
                     1920x1080     60.00*+
                  ...
                  

                  Better: now we should be able to get images/video on the second screen:

                  mpv --vo=gpu --geometry=+1920:+0 -loop media/system/zxspectrum.logo.png
                  mpv --vo=gpu --hwdec=vaapi --geometry=+1920:+0 -loop media/mame/chasehq.mp4
                  

                  Yes, it works 🙂 Or at least, it's a promising start...

                  poppadum 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • poppadum
                    poppadum @poppadum last edited by

                    I have managed to get it working on Recalbox PC 😌

                    Because EmulationStation runs under X with Openbox it needs a few tweaks. Please see the first draft of the instructions here.

                    toniosj 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                    • toniosj
                      toniosj Spanish moderator @poppadum last edited by

                      @poppadum Hi! Thanks for your work!

                      I've followed your guide, I think that it's all OK, Screen is ON, but it doesn't show logos.

                      Testing cd /recalbox/share/dynquee
                      mpv --screen=2 --alpha=blend --loop media/system/zxspectrum.logo.png

                      I see logo on 2nd screen.

                      What would I need to do?

                      poppadum 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • poppadum
                        poppadum @toniosj last edited by

                        @toniosj said in [SOFT] dynquee: dynamic marquee for Recalbox:

                        I've followed your guide, I think that it's all OK, Screen is ON, but it doesn't show logos.

                        Testing
                        mpv --screen=2 --alpha=blend --loop media/system/zxspectrum.logo.png

                        I see logo on 2nd screen.

                        If you run that mpv command manually and it shows an image on your marquee screen, that probably means your screen layout is correct.

                        If nothing shows on the marquee screen after a reboot, check the following:

                        1. Is dynquee running?
                          Try ps -ef | grep dynq: if it's running, you should see python3 dynquee.py listed. If not, check your /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc & startup_pc.sh.

                        2. Check the log file /recalbox/share/dynquee/logs/dynquee.debug.log
                          Is dynquee trying to run the correct mpv command? You should see DEBUG _runCmd():423 cmd=['/usr/bin/mpv', '--screen=2', '--alpha=blend', '--loop', '/recalbox/share/dynquee/media/startup/startup01.png']

                        If that doesn't help, could you let me see a copy of these files (put them on pastebin and send me a link, or post them in a forum chat):

                        • dynquee.ini
                        • startup_pc.sh
                        • logs/dynquee.debug.log
                        • /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
                        • /etc/openbox/rc.xml
                        toniosj 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • toniosj
                          toniosj Spanish moderator @poppadum last edited by

                          @poppadum I've sent you the info via chat.

                          toniosj 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                          • toniosj
                            toniosj Spanish moderator @toniosj last edited by

                            @toniosj It works fine on Recalbox PC!!!

                            Good job!!

                            poppadum 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                            • poppadum
                              poppadum @toniosj last edited by

                              @toniosj Many thanks for all your help testing and troubleshooting.

                              I will update the docs & install script and then do a new release.

                              poppadum 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • poppadum
                                poppadum @poppadum last edited by

                                Version 0.9.6 released featuring much improved support for Recalbox on PC 😃

                                poppadum 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                • poppadum
                                  poppadum @poppadum last edited by

                                  Version 0.9.7 released: adds support for showing images/videos when the Recalbox screensaver is active.

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                  • First post
                                    Last post

                                  Want to support us ?

                                  78
                                  Online

                                  90.3k
                                  Users

                                  26.3k
                                  Topics

                                  181.8k
                                  Posts

                                  Copyright © 2021 recalbox.com